Newly Acquired 1972 Hodaka Wombat 94

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
KyleB

Newly Acquired 1972 Hodaka Wombat 94

Post by KyleB »

Hello All,

My name is Kyle. I'm 29 and reside in Hastings, Nebraska. I am relatively new to motorcycles. My vintage enduro obsession started a couple of years ago and my knowledge of motorcyles has, for the most part, been limited to what I can find on the internet.

A year ago, I picked up a '72 Hodaka Wombat. It had been sitting in a garage for the last 28 years. The gentleman told me that he just parked it one day and he never started it back up. The tank had a little fuel in it and it was full of rust. Despite this I was beguiled. This bike is a survivor.

The bike was pretty sweaty and I spent some time cleaning off the grease and dirt that encased the bike. About 6 months ago, I cleaned the tank and put new fuel hoses, fuel filter, air filter, and new transmission oil in the bike. Spark, Fuel, Air. It started on the 3rd kick, and I was off. I don't think that I will ever forget that moment! I had a mechanic clean the carb, lube up everything, and give the bike a safety inspection. I have put about 25 miles on the bike in the past 3 months. My riding mainly consists of road riding and very light trail riding.

Lately, the bikes running has been extremely inconsistent.I have a few questions and descriptions of my situation below. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

1. I have been running 20:1 gas/oil mix. Should I be running 32:1 or 40:1 instead?

2. This may have to do with #1. I believe that I am flooding the bike and fouling up the plug. Lately when I start up the bike it will run for a minute or two then get bogged down and die. I immediately kick it a few times and gas squirts out onto the concrete throught the carb overflow tube, without the bike starting. I can provide more information if needed to diagnose. Do I need to do adjust the jet/air/something else on the carb?