Compatablity of CW Barrel with SC Bottom End

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
shunt

Compatablity of CW Barrel with SC Bottom End

Post by shunt »

I have a Super Combat (97) Bottom End that I have picked up and I am currently looking at a Combat Wombat (95) Cylinder to replace the current cast iron Wombat Cylinder that came bolted to the SC bottom end, is the CW Cylinder compatible with the SC Bottom End, is there any traps in going down this path?
Also what is the difference between the CW Head and the SC Head, yes the cast iron Wombat Cylinder that was bolted to the SC bottom end, had a SC Head on it, I am wondering whether I can use the SC Head that came on the cast iron Wombat Cylinder or do I need to purchase a CW Head along with the CW Cylinder.
The only reason I am exploring this, is that I am yet to come across a SC Cylinder within the allocated budget for this part of my bitsa build.
Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Shane
rough rider

Re: Compatablity of CW Barrel with SC Bottom End

Post by rough rider »

Hello Shane, Yes you can use the cw cylinder with sc 97 close ratio tranny ( gear box). The sc 97 head will give you higher compression and more power. That is plus when running the close ratio gears. You can still use a cw 95 head just less compression a little less power. Also, you could have the cw 95 cylinder ported for more power but if you plan on using a reed valve you are better off buying an 03 wombat cylinder since it is set up for reeds and there is a lot of room to port and match the specs to the sc 97 cylinder. Richard
racerclam

Post by racerclam »