Too or Not to Do?

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
james

Too or Not to Do?

Post by james »

OK everyone this is my first Hodaka restore, and i am looking for some advice. I have a 1972 Wombat about 50% usable, im seeing the same ol Wombat restore jobs, which are completely amazing, but I was thinking a disk brake upgrade? rear shock upgrade? and possibly a front fork upgrade? any thoughts on this? Will this dramatically decrease the value of the bike? Honestly i am probably gonna keep this one. any comments will help.
Attachments
Just got my first Hodaka
Just got my first Hodaka
Last edited by james on Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Zyx

Re: Too or Not to Do?

Post by Zyx »

Depends on how you define "restore." If your intention is to return the bike to original or near original condition (typical restoration target) then, no, you don't want to make those changes. But if you intend to ride it, and if this is the sort of thing you might have done back in the 70's to make it faster, better, or whatever, then it is up to you. I think more Hodaka's were modified within their first couple of years than stayed original. I know my 100B stayed original for about one season, until I discovered that it was not that hard to make them faster, and who doesn't want that? So, on the one hand, I regret tossing all those 100B parts in a box and then leaving them behind when I moved from Illinois back in 1978 (that box of parts would be worth quite a bit today) -- on the other hand, even if I rebuilt it to as-new standard, I would not enjoy it as much as I do modified.

So it is your choice to make. Will it make it less valuable? Probably, but tell me if you know ANYONE out there who has restored a Hodaka for less money than its restored value. As with most hotrod hobbies, value is not what it sells for, nor what you paid to get it where it is. So the question is moot.
olddogs

Post by olddogs »