new owner, need advice

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
hodakagirl

new owner, need advice

Post by hodakagirl »

Looking for some opinions today! I'm new to the forum and just got my first Hodaka, a 1969 Ace 100. This is my first motorcycle and I only have experience with vintage 2-stroke scooters. My intention is to ride it next spring or summer. I'm not a mechanic by any means but I'm mechanically inclined and a quick learner. I will probably have really simple (hopefully not stupid) questions for you all so I hope you can bear with me while I'm figuring this out.

I'm trying to decide how to start out with this project. The bike is not running but it looks mostly complete. I'm tracking down a carburetor with Bruce's help (thanks, Bruce!) and at minimum I'll need to de-rust a tank, replace cables, get a battery, and replace fuel lines before I can attempt to get it running. It obviously needs new seat foam and a seat cover. I was initially planning to strip it all down, powder coat the frame, clean up chrome parts, etc. But I really like the 'original' look of it, too, so now I'm torn. I thought I would ask you all some advice. What would you do?? Get it running and keep it original? Or strip it all down and make it nice?
Attachments
FLOWERPOWER - hodaka 2.jpg
FLOWERPOWER - hodaka 1.jpg
thrownchain

Re: new owner, need advice

Post by thrownchain »

Welcome to the "group". First what area of the country are you in? Maybe there are others in your area that can help you out. As to the repair / restoration of your bike, it's only original once, that being said the more you need to fix the farther from original it gets. Then again how much resto are you looking to do? A museum quality build or just a good reliable rider? And lastly how much are you willing to spend? You'd be surprised how fast it all adds up.....
matt glascock

Post by matt glascock »