Hello! New bike, rough idle, now oil leak.

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
JohnMedic

Hello! New bike, rough idle, now oil leak.

Post by JohnMedic »

Hello! I'm new to Hodakas, bikes, small engines & carburators. But I've rebuilt a couple engines, I'm generally handy. I just bought a 99 Road Toad to get my hands dirty, have some fun, & the community sounds great! Anyways, after cleaning the carb while troubleshooting an idling issue, I noticed that there is oil leaking from the exhaust pipe. About a drop per kickstart attempt. It's definitely motor-oil. The spark plug also gets a good coat of oil on it. The bike has 936 miles on it, has been sitting for a year, hasn't been ridden in who-knows-how-long. How bad is this, should I just do a full teardown/gaskets/rebuild since I don't know the history?
thrownchain

Re: Hello! New bike, rough idle, now oil leak.

Post by thrownchain »

If it is motor oil, then the right side crank seal needs replacing, which is a complete teardown. You can get an overhaul kit from Paul and makes the whole process easier.
Bullfrog
Location: Oregon, 12 miles from the center of the Hodaka Universe(Athena)

Post by Bullfrog »

Thrownchain almost certainly nailed it. If you are set up to do a crankcase pressure test . . . a pressure test is in order - though we think we know the result. It certainly sounds like the clutch side crankshaft seal has failed. Time for a full tear down and new bearings and seals.
Ed
Keep the rubber side down!
Hydraulic Jack

Post by Hydraulic Jack »

While it is likely that the folks are right about the seal, I am curious how it was determined that the oil present in the exhaust is, in fact, motor oil (oil that belongs in the transmission as opposed to the injector oil that is pumped into the engine to lubricate the crank and piston). Once oil passes through the cylinder, it is going to be "dirty" in appearance, so just wondering.