Cleaning engine case

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Phydeaux

Cleaning engine case

Post by Phydeaux »

Hey folks, newbie here. I picked up an early Dirt Squirt a while back as a way to spend more time in the garage. It's actually a decent restoration candidate, but I'm not a total purist and just want it to look presentable. I stripped the bike and am having the frame powder coated a close-ish colour. I expect I'll have a few questioms for the group but right now I'm hoping for some ideas on cleaning the engine side cases. They are in nice shape but seem to be peeling. They must have been clear coated or perhaps an aluminum coating of some kind. Is that original? How best to strip this off and what to do once its off - what coating to put on it or just leave it?

Thanks,
RLW
Zyx

Re: Cleaning engine case

Post by Zyx »

Pretty sure the original cases are just aluminum, but though I bought mine new, I don't remember anymore. Ball burnishing has been recently discussed here as a way to produce outstanding case parts. Search the forum for the term "ball burnished." It was only a couple weeks back.

I media blasted my aluminum steering head casting and didn't like the result. Too dull. So I painted it with Argent Silver wheel paint, and now it looks new. It also looks painted. On that part it works. On the side covers I think it might look to glitzy. Check out the ball burnish, which is done professionally. Stuff looks amazing.
Last edited by Zyx on Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Zyx

Post by Zyx »

March 17 this year. Thread called "motor casings" by Bullfrog. Photos included. Take a look. I would post a link if I knew how.
Pep

Post by Pep »

The clutch and shift covers were painted originally - I think.
Paul sells the correct paint, and of course you can get close with other stuff.
As for stripping, regular stripper works fine (Kleen Strip, etc.) then elbow grease to get them real tidy.