New to Hodaka - Looking for Guidance

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Kokomo03

New to Hodaka - Looking for Guidance

Post by Kokomo03 »

Hello, I am new to Hodaka motorcycles, however have lived 80% of my life on two wheels on the dirt and street. I am currently the Sales Manager at Harley-Davidson of Wausau, in Wisconsin. Grow up racing MX, currently getting my 4 year old son into it. Have worked on bikes my whole life, currently have a 1969 HD Sprint in my garage.

Recently my uncle passed away, who also lived most of his life on two wheels, both in the dirt and on the street. He has two Hodaka’s that will both in end up my garage shortly. One, a 1972 Wombat, the second a 1974 Super Combat.

The ’72, has most of the parts still assembled on the bike, the ’74 is currently a rolling frame. However all the parts (assuming I can find them) are still in his garage. Now, neither of them have ran in at least 15-20 years. There for I have no idea what the condition of either one internally. I am sure that I will need new/pre-owned parts along the line.

I am looking for a couple things at this point of the game:
- A few pictures of each of them as they were factory
- What is the BEST service and/or parts manual out there for guidance putting them back together
- Any other suggestions, or things that would help me along

Any advice is appreciated !

Thank you for your time

Kokomo Stevens
viclioce

Re: New to Hodaka - Looking for Guidance

Post by viclioce »

Hi and welcome! There are two manuals you should get, I believe. For the 1972 you should get the manual for a the Model 94/94A Wombat. They are very similar with minor differences in things like exhaust pipes and such. You can look at the serial number on the right front engine case by the clutch lever to find your serial number. Then compare it to the chart on the Strictly Hodaka home page wherein there is a link for serial number identification.