Super Combat stuck swing arm

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Tether

Super Combat stuck swing arm

Post by Tether »

I have a Super Combat that I trying to remove the swing arm. The bolt is stuck inside the swing arm and will not budge. I have wracked on it with a big hammer to the point of destroying the nut but absolutely no movement.
Any suggestions?
Stever

Re: Super Combat stuck swing arm

Post by Stever »

One way, which saves hammering, heating, penetrating oil, etc, although some cursing may still be required -

Carefully drill out both ends of the bolt, down to the swingarm, starting with small drill bits working up to the size of the bolt. That gets the swingarm free from the frame. I think there's a grease fitting that already centers your drilling on one end of the bolt, isn't there?

Then remove the wheel, shocks, etc. Take the swingarm to any shop that has a shop press, and have them press the bolt shaft out.

just my 2 cents, based on experience

-Stever
Tether

Post by Tether »

I did try penetrating oil. I will try applying heat next. Drilling seems like it would be the last resort but if that’s what it takes then so be it.
viclioce

Post by viclioce »

Does the swing arm move on the frame? :ugeek: Victor

1978 175SL
1976 03 Wombat
1975 99 Road Toad (2)
1973 96 Dirt Squirt (2)
1973 “Wombat Combat”
1973 Combat Wombat
1972 94 Wombat (2)
1972 Super Squirt
1971 92B+ Ace
1970 92B Ace 100B (2)
1968 92 Ace 100
1966 Ace 90
; D Victor
Tether

Post by Tether »

Yes Victor the swing arm moves on the frame. The bolt is stuck inside of the swing arm. I have had stuck swing arms before but I’ve always been able to get them apart eventually. This one is winning the battle so far. I have tried lots of penetrating oil, heat, big hammer, sweat and cussing but it won’t budge. I have ruined the the bolt so I don’t care about that anymore.
matt glascock

Post by matt glascock »