Off-Road Toad

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
ToLiveNDieInNJ

Off-Road Toad

Post by ToLiveNDieInNJ »

Hey everyone!

I'm new to the Hodaka world, but not to enduro bikes. I've been riding for 6 years, and my first bike was a '72 Honda SL350. The Toad is a featherweight compared to that bike. My new-to-me Toad would be tough to put back to stock, so I'm going to make it more trail-ready. Possibly some vintage motocross in my future. Looking forward to the journey!

thrownchain

Re: Off-Road Toad

Post by thrownchain »

Welcome, that bike doesn't look that far from stock, might be easier than you think.
matt glascock

Post by matt glascock »

Welcome! Lots of great, knowledgeable, smart, and really friendly folks here to help you every step of the way. Excellent parts availability for the Road Toad too. I have one just like it and it is a great trail bike with a surprisingly peppy motor. You'll love it!
ToLiveNDieInNJ

Post by ToLiveNDieInNJ »

thrownchain wrote:Welcome, that bike doesn't look that far from stock, might be easier than you think.
I think this angle is a bit deceiving. The air box, oil injection and rear turn signals are missing. The tail light is smashed. I think the exhaust is off of an Ace.
thrownchain

Post by thrownchain »

The hardest thing to find may be the air box. ( maybe the taillight) but there are lots of parts out there. Just ask.... there's a few of us on the east side of the country and we're a helpful bunch.
ToLiveNDieInNJ

Post by ToLiveNDieInNJ »

thrownchain wrote:The hardest thing to find may be the air box. ( maybe the taillight) but there are lots of parts out there. Just ask.... there's a few of us on the east side of the country and we're a helpful bunch.
Thanks for the help and advice! I definitely want to get an original exhaust. Pretty sure I'm leaving some power on the table without that original expansion chamber.

The first ride was awesome, btw. Never owned a 2 stroke and I'm so glad I do now.