Carb Questions

Posts from the Old Strictly Hodaka Forum.
Forum rules
Saved posts from former Strictly Hodaka Forum. Read-Only section for reference purposes.
admin
Site Admin

Carb Questions

Post by admin »

FastMag - 10/16/07 at 1:52am

Okay here goes. I have a 1977 03 Wombat completely stock . I have cleaned the carb over and over again. I have my own dip tank and at this point in time you could eat off of this carb. She is clean. I set the idle and then set the air mixture screw at 1 1/2 as per the manual. Spark plug gap is set and it starts on the first kick.
Here is the problem. It does not run clean at my higher RPM's. When you are riding it you constantly have to feather the throttle and adjust to get it to runs smooth. It kind of cuts out. Low RPM and just putting around, the thing runs great. When I am hammering on it and trying to have the real good fun, it just is not running clean. I have tried to adjust the carb and went to lean and broke a skirt off the piston once. Paul hooked me up with a new one.
What am I missing here? The only thing that I can see that may be wrong, but i didn't think it would be it, was my needle coming off of the slide has a rough spot mid shaft. I polished it and it is pretty smooth. But like I said mid shaft. And very small imperfection.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Forum Admin - 10/16/07 at 5:05pm

If you are loading up at the " top " do you mean 3/4 to full throttle ?? Sometimes it is very hard to tell the difference from the bike gulping for more fuel or choking from having to much fuel.