94 Wombat Crankcase Breather - Why? + Pressure Test

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Simonkav

94 Wombat Crankcase Breather - Why? + Pressure Test

Post by Simonkav »

Once again, I'm new to 2-strokes and Hodakas so please excuse the ignorance. I'm trying to get a 94 wombat sorted with not much luck. I've learned that crankcase pressure is pretty darn important, funny things these two strokes, so I thought - I'll run a pressure test. I hacked together a tester. Sealed the intake and exhaust, was using the plug adapter for the air in/pressure reading, found BDC and began pressurizing. Immediately, pressure would not hold. Hmm. So I let low pressure (~3psi) just run constant and listened/sprayed and sure enough, I discover there's a crankcase breather?

So now I'm officially baffled. I thought the case needed to be sealed yet there is a breather? Does the wombat produce enough case pressure that it needs a breather and still has enough pressure/vacuum to move fuel/air through the motor? For the pressure test, I assume I just cover the breather?

Thanks in advance.

Simon
racerclam

Re: 94 Wombat Crankcase Breather - Why? + Pressure Test

Post by racerclam »

the breather is for the transmission which is NOT! tied to the crankcase , If its blowing air through it , its because you either have a bad clutch side crank seal or it leaking through the case halves into the trans.

Rich
taber hodaka

Post by taber hodaka »

If your wombat has sat for years I would only guess it to be the seal clutch side .. or as Rich said the cases. -----------Clarence
Simonkav

Post by Simonkav »

Ok, that makes more sense. Even looking at the schematic, it looked as if it was leading to the crankcase. I suppose on closer inspection it's just at the very top of the transmission?

Regardless, cases or clutch side seal - bad news. Need to split them and rebuild. Yes?

-Simon
matt glascock

Post by matt glascock »