New Member - 1972 Wombat - General Questions

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Simonkav

New Member - 1972 Wombat - General Questions

Post by Simonkav »

Hey everyone,
New member here and a new Hodaka owner - Model 94 Wombat (09/72 birthdate). Not new to motorcycle mechanics nor to older machines but I am brand new to 2 strokes and Hodakas. I'm looking forward to it! I've been spending some time reading the boards, getting better with searching, etc. but thought I'd post a thread for general feedback. I'm sorry if this has all be covered a hundred times over.

First off, I plan to use the bike for city/street and light enduro/cc. My goal is usability and dependability, not originality or restoration. Performance enhancement/tuning is of interest, but I realize that comes at a cost to reliability and would take measured steps in that direction.

1) The model 94 carb - was it really not built for 2 strokes and just never quite worked right? The machine I've picked up runs, with fresh gas and plug, but terribly. I attributed it to a gummed up carb, possibly air intake issues as well. It sat for a quite a few years. I was planning on pulling and cleaning it but I've done that a ton of times before on other bikes and not always with great success. If I get into rebuilding - new seals, gaskets, jets, etc....well I hate to go after it if in the end I'm still going to end up with a carb with sub-par performance for the bike. Do many people move to an alternate mikuni, or even move up to a 28? I'm not opposed to buying a new carb.